Born into a Kurdish family from the north of Syria (Kobane), Miço Kendeş grew up on the stories his grandmother told him and the tales and sagas recounted during evenings in the family home. That provided him with the material to cultivate his passion – song.

He taught himself to play the bouzouki and tamboura, subsequently enriching his musical culture by learning to play the oud, studying maqams in Aleppo and western music in Neuchâtel. He has identified hundreds of traditional Kurdish songs and conserved the most authentic among them, bringing them back to life enhanced by the beauty of his voice and his command of the vocal techniques peculiar to his native region.

Created in 2001, his group of singers of epic song is made up of Kurdish musicians from Iraq, Iran, Turkey and Syria. His new ensemble seeks to breathe new life into the texts of Arabian, Iranian and Kurdish Sufi poets through music and dance. In collaboration with Iranian singer Sara Hamidi, oud-player Pejman Tadayon, choregrapher Rana Gorgani and tombak-player Darius Soltani, Miço Kendeş presents a touching, original musical project marrying tradition and modernity.

Besides giving concerts, Miço Kendeş also gives private lessons and group courses in Switzerland for amateur and professional singers.

In einer kurdischen Familie in Nordsyrien (Kobanê) geboren, nahm Miço Kendeş schon früh die Geschichten in sich auf, die er von seiner Großmutter hörte, und auch die Märchen und Epen, die erzählt wurden, wenn man abends in seinem Elternhaus beisammensaß. Daraus entwickelte er seine Leidenschaft für den Gesang.

Bouzouki und Tambura lernte er selbst spielen und bereicherte später seine musikalische Kultur, indem er das Oudspiel erlernte, sich in Aleppo eingehend mit Maqams und in Neuchâtel/Neuenburg mit der westlich-abendländischen Musik beschäftigte. Er sammelte und erfasste mehrere Hundert traditioneller kurdischer Gesänge, wählte darunter die authentischsten aus und interpretiert sie für uns mit seiner schönen Stimme und Vokaltechniken seiner Heimatregion.

Seine 2001 gegründete Gruppe besteht aus kurdischen Musikern, die aus Irak, Iran, der Türkei und Syrien stammen, und bietet epische Gesänge dar. Seine neue Formation möchte die Texte arabischer, iranischer und kurdischer Sufi-Dichter durch Musik und Tanz neu beleben. In Zusammenarbeit mit der iranischen Sängerin Sara Hamidi, dem Oudspieler Pejman Tadayon, der Choreografin Rana Gorgani und dem Tombakspieler Darius Soltani präsentiert Miço Kendeş ein originelles, bewegendes Projekt, das Tradition und Moderne verbindet.

In der Schweiz und am Rande seiner Konzerte bietet Miço Kendeş Amateuren und Profisängern Einzelunterricht und Kurse an.